MBAThe Medical Board of Australia (MBA) took over the responsibility for registering all doctors and governing their eligibility to practice medicine in Australia in July 2010.

The role of the MBA is to:

  • Register medical practitioners and medical students
  • Develop standards, codes and guidelines for the medical profession
  • Investigate notifications and complaints
  • Where necessary, conduct panel hearings and refer serious matters to Tribunal hearings
  • Assess IMGs who wish to practice in Australia
  • Approve accreditation standards and accredited courses of study.

The MBA is supported by Boards in each State and Territory. These Boards make individual registration and notification decisions, based on national policies and standards set by the Medical Board of Australia.

The Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA)

The Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) is a national agency established to improve the quality and safety of Australia’s health services through a modernised national regulatory system for health professionals.

AHPRA has an office in each State and Territory responsible for the majority of operational matters and a national office in Melbourne. AHPRA reports to a Ministerial Council and is governed by an Agency Management Committee appointed by the Ministerial Council. AHPRA supports the operations of the national boards for each profession covered by the scheme, and the State and Territory boards and committees established by the national boards.

For more information about changes in registration and accreditation visit the Medical Board of Australia website and the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency website.