Structure and Committees

PMCT has several committees that deal with current issues around accreditation, education and matters relating to JMOs. The role of these bodies is to assist and give advice to the PMCT board and council.

Organisational structure

In addition to PMCT staff, PMCT also consists of a Board, Council and a number of different committees. Each of these different organisational components include representatives from Medical Colleges, the University of Tasmania, Department of Health, Tasmanian Health Service, Medical Boards and Associations, and consumer groups.

PMCT Board

PMCT's Constitution requires that PMCT is governed by a Board of Directors that meets quarterly and has the responsibility for PMCT's finance and operations. 

Three Committees report to the PMCT Board:

  • Executive Committee
  • Accreditation Committee
  • Education & IMG Committee.

Accreditation Committee

The purpose of the Accreditation Committee is to promote excellence in clinical training, appropriate educational and learning experiences and effective supervision through accreditation of health services and Intern and PGY2/3 terms to ensure the highest standards of patient safety and medical care.

Education & IMG Committee

The aim of the Education & IMG Committee is to promote the development and implementation of appropriate educational activities and programs for IMGs and junior doctors within Tasmanian public hospitals. This committee also acts to advise the Accreditation Committee on appropriate educational standards for hospitals to ensure appropriate infrastructure and support of junior doctors.